ESP Champions of ChangeIn recognition of the extraordinary things they do for students every day in our nation’s schools, the White House honored and celebrated on Wednesday the work of education support professionals (ESP) as ‘Champions of Change .’    The White House Champions of Change program honors everyday Americans doing extraordinary things in their Communities.

Twelve school support professionals, including five NEA ESP members, were honored at a May 11 ceremony at the White House where they participated in two panel discussions about how educating the whole student happens inside and outside of the classroom.

ESP make up one-third of our nation’s education workforce. Approximately, 2.8 million school support staff work in the nation’s public schools and higher-ed institutions, with more than 75 percent working at the K-12 level. They are dedicated to everything from keeping students safe, healthy and fed to supporting their social and emotional well-being. Their work is critical to students’ academic success.


Pictured are NEA President Lily Eskelsen Garcia and 4 NEA ESP Members.   From left: Doreen McGuire-Grigg, special education paraeducator at Terrace Middle School, Ted Chaudoir, school bus driver at Southern Door County School District, Jeanette Griffin-Kimber, substitute teacher coordinator at Meadowcreek High School, NEA President Lily Eskelsen Garcia, Cynthia Tercero-Sandoval, dropout programs coordinator at Phoenix Union High School, and Annie McClintock, special education paraeducator at Harborfields High School.